Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-02-2018, 08:09 PM   #1

Long Exposure and Filters??

Hello!

I just got myself a new Pentax K-70, how do I start taking long exposure photos with this camera? Are ND filters necessary for long exposure shots? When do you use filters and when do you not?

I have been doing quick google searches for these questions, but everyone seems to have a different opinion and every camera is different. Any and all help is appreciated.

Thank you!!!

07-02-2018, 08:14 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It depends on the lighting and aperture and iso. In bright light with low iso - if you want a long exposure you will likely need a neutal density filter. An alternative involves using the interval method and averaging the pictures to get a similar effect. But I have little experience in either method so I hope some experts drop in.
07-02-2018, 08:16 PM - 1 Like   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by Jrolandphotography Quote
Hello!

I just got myself a new Pentax K-70, how do I start taking long exposure photos with this camera? Are ND filters necessary for long exposure shots? When do you use filters and when do you not?

I have been doing quick google searches for these questions, but everyone seems to have a different opinion and every camera is different. Any and all help is appreciated.

Thank you!!!
You don't really need a ND filter unless you're shooting moving water or something else that portrays motion.

Check out our article on this here:
Daylight Long Exposures Using a ND Filter - Articles and Tips | PentaxForums.com

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)