Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-12-2018, 06:36 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Sigma 30mm f/1.4 ART - Autofocus Adjustment

Hello there,

I own a K-70 and one of my primary every day lens is my Sigma 30mm. I love the pictures I get with it and for the most part, it's a reliable performer. Though, my copy seems to have an issue with back focusing from time to time. It's not a deal breaker for me and I don't mind using manual focusing to help the lens out at times. However, I recently read about being able to make Autofocus Adjustments within your camera body. I'm new to this, so I'm wondering how much of an adjustment I should make. Does anyone have experience with this and this lens particularly? Any advice would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

07-12-2018, 07:36 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Fixing Front and Back Focus - The Remedy - In-Depth Articles

https://pentaxforums.com/search/?q=af+micro+adjustment&cx=partner-pub-889419...D%3A9&ie=UTF-8
07-12-2018, 07:37 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The AF adjustments only work if the lens always focuses a bit off - so if the lens focuses right more often than not, then if you adjust the focus it will always default to the new setting and be off more often than not.
The Sigma 30 1.4 Art is known to have some issues with autofocus on all bodies (as do some other Sigma lenses), not just Pentax. With mine on the K-S1, I only use center point so 90+% of the time it focuses correctly and if I can see in the viewfinder that it is front or back focusing, I just hit the AF button once or twice again to make it find the right focus. I don't remember ever having to focus it manually, unless of course I use it on my old K10D, where AF fails 100% of the time and I only use it with manual focus.