Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2008, 09:44 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Newbie -- Help requested -- lens won't come off

Hello everyone,

My name is Julie and I'm a newbie to the forums. I'll post a more detailed introduction soon but I have a pretty big problem and I'm hoping someone on the forums can offer advice.

I am a very recent upgrader to the Pentax digital cameras. I would still consider myself a novice photographer. I used to use the manual K1000 with various lenses and flashes.

I upgraded to the K200D in the last 3 weeks. While I've read a ton of information, I probably didn't read enough and think I did something wrong. I put one of the lenses from my old camera onto the 200 and now I can't get it off.

It was not a Pentax brand lens but fit my K1000 which I thought was supposed to work on the new camera.

Right now the camera is completely useless as it doesn't even recognize that there is a lens attached.

I contacted customer service on the Pentax site but they said they couldn't help me because it wasn't a Pentax brand lens and directed me to return it to a Pentax repair facility.

My questions are:
Does anyone know how I might remove this lens?
Or would a local camera shop/retailer be able to help me?

or should I just trust Pentax and send it back to them?

I really wanted this camera for a trip at the end of October and after spending the money I did, I'm really concerned about the right action to take.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
If you need additional info from me, please let me know.

I'm looking forward to using this camera and really hope this bump in the road is not a sign of things to come.

Thanks
Julie

09-16-2008, 10:00 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery