Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
07-25-2018, 06:55 PM   #1

Is this fungus?

I'm new to lenses and I don't know exactly what this is and if it's something that can be cleaned out> Thank you

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
IPhone X  Photo 
07-25-2018, 08:45 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Possibly, but it looks atypical for classic fungus. Try backlighting the photo, sometimes that makes it easier to identify.

Could possibly be de-lamination of one of the coatings.
07-25-2018, 09:24 PM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

It could be the very start of a fungal 'mass' infection - i.e. lots of infection nodes all simultaneously growing/ coalescing, hence looks atypical. Almost like some petri dishes I have played with in my university days - eeek
07-25-2018, 09:59 PM - 1 Like   #4

Looks like it's fungus/mould. If you can open, get the lens apart, and of course put it back together again. it should be able to be cleaned.

07-25-2018, 10:13 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I find it difficult to tell, but this seems to affect the front element only. That is generally fairly easy to remove, inspect and clean. If you have identification of the lens, there's probably someone out here who had taken one apart before you willing to share the best tips and trucks.
07-26-2018, 04:58 AM - 2 Likes   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Hard to tell, but I think the first question to answer is do you want to get into cleaning vintage lenses? It's not that hard once you get some basic tools. For a lens like this, it appears from your photo you will unscrew a ring that's holding the front element. You'll ned something to grip it. There are rubber lens tools for this purpose. I picked up this set and have found it good, but unfortunately, it's not listed as available, but this gives you an idea of what you're looking for: