Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
08-20-2018, 04:50 PM   #1

Unexposed Film with Pentax ME Super

Hello, everybody.
I wanted to get into film photography, so I picked up a camera for cheap, a ME Super with a Starblitz 75-200mm macro lens (came with the camera). I got some fujicolor 200 film and set off shooting and everything seemed to be working fine. That is until I had the 1st roll developed and it turned out to be a blank roll. Film numbers show up so I don't think that it was a error with the processing. The shutter appears to work as well and the film advances, so I'm at a loss for what could be wrong . Please excuse me if this is in the wrong area or this was a little light on info, I'm an absolute beginner to this.

Thank you in advance - Nick

08-20-2018, 05:14 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi Nick - Welcome to the Pentax group,

Can you open the back of the camera with no film in it (lens off) and take a shot (maybe around 1/60s) looking through the film area toward a broad bright light source? Does the shutter open and close? If the shutter appears to be working, put the lens back on, set a wide open aperture, and repeat. Do you still see light when the shutter opens and does it look like the lens is fully open as selected? If that's happening, you should be getting something on the film unless the images were grossly underexposed for some reason. That would leave shutter speed and lens aperture as suspect. You can try different lens apertures and see if the lens is closing down if a median aperture is selected (say f8). Try slower and higher shutter speeds without a lens and you can tell if the shutter is working over a range of speeds. That would rule out the camera for the most part.