Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
09-16-2018, 08:27 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Longevity for Eneloop batteries

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I have been using Eneloop AA rechargeable batteries for my Pentaxes for several years with no problems till recently. After my batteries had become discharged while shooting with my K50, I recharged them with an "Energizer" charger. This is supposed to shut down after the charging is complete. However, it did not shut down and I found that after about half a day the batteries were feeling very warm. I removed the batteries and later put them back into my camera and began more picture taking. I found that the batteries discharged very quickly indicating that they were not fully charged and/or faulty. Is this typical of all rechargeable batteries when they reach end-of-life? Could the charger be faulty? I welcome your comments.

09-16-2018, 08:50 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Rechargeable batteries like Ni MH can attain 1.2 volts when new but this voltage can not be attained after thousands of recharging. Metal fatigue can be the cause why batteries will not charge well no matter how long you charge it. The only way to get the full charge is buy a new batteries.
09-16-2018, 09:41 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by psoo Quote