Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-29-2018, 10:58 AM   #1

Issues with my Pentax ME Super

Hi guys! I recently got into analog photography so sorry if I'm asking something silly.

Today I received my Pentax ME Super and noticed that the light seal in the front (mirror bumper I think) is broken/gone, there's still some left in there most of it is gone. Since I'm not an expert and I'm just starting I couldn't really tell if something else is broken or not working, the camera seems in GREAT condition though, I'm amazed by how "new" it looks.

My question is... Can I still shoot my first roll without that one light seal being fixed? I bought a Portra 400 which is quite expensive compared to other films and I don't feel like wasting 10 euros there if the pics are gonna come up bad after developing. I read online that the mirror bumper "doesnt actually do anything" more than just protect your camera in case you drop it, I also read in some other forums that you need them for some other reasons I can't remember.

Anyways, hopefully some of you can give me a hand cheers!

---------- Post added 09-29-18 at 11:36 AM ----------

Here are some pics, apparently what is missing/gone is not a light seal but a mirror bumper?

Imgur: The magic of the Internet

09-29-2018, 02:00 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

QuoteOriginally posted by brainsweetiesss Quote
Today I received my Pentax ME Super and noticed that the light seal in the front (mirror bumper I think) is broken/gone, there's still some left in there most of it is gone. Since I'm not an expert and I'm just starting I couldn't really tell if something else is broken or not working, the camera seems in GREAT condition though, I'm amazed by how "new" it looks.
Bad seals and/or mirror foam are common in used cameras and not indicative of anything other than time since they were last replaced.