Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-27-2018, 08:06 PM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Albums
Un-Macroing my telephoto lens.

So after attempting to disassemble my Sigma λII 75-300mm and putting it back together again, it suddenly has turned into a very good Macro lens. While it does have interesting possibilities in this current state, that's not what I bought it for.

There were no leftover parts and I know that it has something to do with how the front elements are reassembled. However, I'm at a loss as to how to correct it. I am considering buying a second model as a parts source and I should be able to use it to solve the problem once I have it. However, I would like to figure out this problem before it would arrive.

Thoughts?

10-27-2018, 09:07 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm no expert. But I seem to recall that reversing an element or two can cause this.
10-28-2018, 01:41 AM   #3

Yes, as UncleVanya says, you probably reversed an element or group. See if you can find the diagram showing the layout for this lens. If not, trial and error works. There can't be that many combinations.
10-28-2018, 08:41 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by UncleVanya Quote
I'm no expert. But I seem to recall that reversing an element or two can cause this.
It's possible since the middle group was lose and may have gotten reversed before reassembly. I never got to the point where I had removed individual lenses and only did a partial body disassembly.

It's also a telescoping zoom if that matters to those with experience.

10-28-2018, 06:39 PM   #5

Original Poster
And let this be a lesson to everyone: don't say that something is broken until you test it in your camera. Turns out that you can't determine if you reassembled your lens properly by merely looking through the barrel. It was only an optical illusion and I had put it back together correctly.