Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
11-11-2018, 04:16 PM   #1
Forum Member

in what format to store RAW files on external storage drives ?

Hi all,
not sure the title is correctly worded - apology if not. but this is a beginner's query. I'm not a beginner photographer - but I'm essentially so when it comes to post-processing, and even to computer storage - the latter is the focus of my question.

when I offload my photos to store them on my external hard drives - should i be storing as PNG or is it okay to use the default PEF format ? (almost all are in RAW - and I have thousands....). I'm at the point where i need to offload photos b/c my hard drive is full...

I don't really do post-processing - it's called procrastination - altho i use the basic tools in Photos on my MacBook for cropping and basic exposure tools. I have never used the Silky Pics software that came with my K5iiS when i bought it 5 or 6 yrs ago.

Thank you.

11-11-2018, 04:27 PM   #2
sbh
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Do you mean PNG or DNG?

Basically it makes no difference whether you use DNG or PEF. I use PEF to keep it simple.
11-11-2018, 04:29 PM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I think you mean DNG (not PNG).

The general consensus is that you are probably better off saving files as DNG - they are more likely to be readable by whatever software you might be using years from now, as opposed to the proprietary PEF format.

Are your files already DNG? If so, you can just offload them to your external storage as is. If they are PEF, you will need to convert. I'm not sure if you can batch convert thousands at a time!
11-11-2018, 04:53 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

DNG is probably the best way to go.

11-11-2018, 05:31 PM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums