Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-27-2018, 06:51 AM   #1

Meter reads underexposed in decent light

This may be a very elementary film shooter question but I recently started shooting with a Pentax 645N and am working off the internal light meter which seems to be working very well. I'm shooting with Kodak Portra 400 film rated at 200 and my results have been good when shooting in sunny beautiful weather. However, when I'm shooting indoors in a very well-lit room or outdoors on a moderately cloudy day, my meter always reads significantly underexposed. How do I compensate for this? It's as if it has to be a perfectly sunny day for my images to be properly exposed and this doesn't seem correct.

Should I be setting my camera to +1 or +2 to push the film a stop or two? It still reads underexposed on the meter but does that help?

Would love any pointers! Thank you in advance

11-27-2018, 09:00 AM   #2

What criteria are you using when you say "my meter always reads significantly underexposed"? That is, are you checking the camera meter against another meter of known accuracy? Or do you mean your negatives are consistently underexposed under low light conditions?
11-27-2018, 09:52 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by runswithsizzers Quote
What criteria are you using when you say "my meter always reads significantly underexposed"?
My question as well ^ ^ ^

To evaluate from a technical perspective:
  • Are the negatives for indoor shots significantly less dense when compared to "properly" exposed outdoor frames on the same roll?
  • Are gray card readings* similar to another camera or hand-held meter of known accuracy in the same light?
  • Camera repair shops will often check meter calibration and response against a calibrated light source free of charge. It may be worth an inquiry.

From the perspective of user practice: