Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-23-2019, 10:41 AM   #1

Vertical lines on landscape pictures

Hi everyone!

I just started shooting with a Pentax 20D my father gave me. He bought it probably 10 years ago.
There is an issue with the landscape pictures I take, especially at night : weird vertical lines appear. I can even see them on the screen of the camera. I have attached a few examples. There only seems to be a problem with landscape pictures, not portrait ones. I shot in JPG.

If you have any idea what's going on here...
Thank you so much!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 
01-23-2019, 11:05 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sitting here staring at your photos. I can see no vertical lines whatsoever. Is it your monitor settings?
01-23-2019, 11:09 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I can see the lines in both images, mostly visible in the sky. I'm no expert, but I'm guessing it's a problem with the camera's sensor.
01-23-2019, 11:41 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by jbinpg Quote
Sitting here staring at your photos. I can see no vertical lines whatsoever. Is it your monitor settings?
Zoomed in they show up for me on my phone.

---------- Post added 01-23-19 at 01:41 PM ----------

How are they processed?

01-23-2019, 12:06 PM - 1 Like   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
I believe the old Samsung sensor in K20D did suffer from banding problems in some cameras, but it usually only show on high ISO.

An old battery that start to go bad can probably cause many strange problems.
01-23-2019, 12:06 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by jbinpg Quote