Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-10-2019, 06:31 AM   #1

K-10D firmware update

I'm trying to update the firmware on my K-10D from 1.3.0 to 1.3.1 so that I can use SDHC cards with it. I used the Download for Windows link on the Ricoh site at http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/english/support/digital/k10d_s.html.
This has provided me with an file called k10e131w.EXE, and not a file with a .bin extension which I had been expecting. What I don't know is whether I can now copy this EXE file to an SD card for inserting into the camera in order to proceed with the firmware update. I would really like to avoid ruining the camera! Can someone talk me through the procedure step-by-step as I've never done this sort of thing before? Any advice appreciated.

03-10-2019, 07:03 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If I recall correctly you run that exe and extract the bin file then put that bin file on the card.

Look here: http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/english/support/digital/k10d_s.html they detail the process on that page.

Last edited by UncleVanya; 03-10-2019 at 07:09 AM.
03-10-2019, 07:09 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Marcuse Quote
I'm trying to update the firmware on my K-10D from 1.3.0 to 1.3.1 so that I can use SDHC cards with it. I used the Download for Windows link on the Ricoh site at http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/english/support/digital/k10d_s.html.
This has provided me with an file called k10e131w.EXE, and not a file with a .bin extension which I had been expecting. What I don't know is whether I can now copy this EXE file to an SD card for inserting into the camera in order to proceed with the firmware update. I would really like to avoid ruining the camera! Can someone talk me through the procedure step-by-step as I've never done this sort of thing before? Any advice appreciated.
QuoteOriginally posted by UncleVanya Quote