Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2019, 07:50 PM   #1

K-1:28-105mm kit lens not shooting consistently with the viewfinder

Hello everyone - hoping to get some insights into problem with the 28-105mm kit lens. I'm still a beginner.

When using the viewfinder, when I press to focus, it doesn't do so consistently (i.e. there is not movement of the lens to focus) and then won't shoot. This will happen in Av, Auto and other modes. Sometimes it will focus and shoot but I haven't been able to find any pattern as to when it will work vs not.

By contrast, if I go to Live view, it works fine. When I use other lenses, they work fine too.

I suspect there is a problem with my lens but want to rule out there isn't something else going on with the camera or the settings.

Appreciate any help!

04-03-2019, 08:05 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by rainmaker889 Quote
Hello everyone - hoping to get some insights into problem with the 28-105mm kit lens. I'm still a beginner.

When using the viewfinder, when I press to focus, it doesn't do so consistently (i.e. there is not movement of the lens to focus) and then won't shoot. This will happen in Av, Auto and other modes. Sometimes it will focus and shoot but I haven't been able to find any pattern as to when it will work vs not.

By contrast, if I go to Live view, it works fine. When I use other lenses, they work fine too.

I suspect there is a problem with my lens but want to rule out there isn't something else going on with the camera or the settings.

Appreciate any help!
Welcome to the forum.
Are you experiencing this problem in bright daylight?
Can you get good focus with it when focussing manually?
04-04-2019, 06:27 AM   #3

Rainmaker welcome.
For what its worth....
Please consider cleaning/checking the contacts on your lens and camera. And ensure lens focus switch is set to auto verse manual.