Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
05-01-2019, 10:06 PM   #1

Bought M42 to PK mount adaptor for K-01...stuck.

Dear all, forgive my that I am a total newbie and this is my first post.

For many years I am a proud (second owner) of a used Pentax-K01 (however this is without the default kit DA lens, but instead offered with takumar 28-80MM lens and later bought SMC 50MM lens). Mainly have been using it for videography.

I have been planning to use a Helios 44-2 or the 44-6 for my K-01.
(which I'm sure many are aware) I've looked at was simply stunning.

So I bought an M42 to PK adaptor here; thinking it would fit for my K-01 no problem as the seller does state in the description that the K-01 is compatible.

Alas, now it is stuck. I cannot unscrew, nor get it out. Tried rotating both clock and anticlockwise did not loosen the adaptor at all.

Should I go ahead and order the helios lens right away? Assuming now the camera only accepts M42 lenses. Otherwise, My pentax K-01 (and both of my existing Takumar zoom lens and SMC50 lens) are now rendered useless ....

Attached Images

05-01-2019, 11:30 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sorry to hear about your misfortune with the M42 to PK adapter. I too learned the hard way that the only M42 to PK adapter that I trust is the one from Pentax. They're pricey but don't get stuck on the camera.

My solution for removing a similar knockoff from my camera (K20d at the time) was to use a pipe wrench to get leverage, while depressing the lens release button. It was delicate operation with a very indelicate tool, and fortunately it didn't take much force to loosen the adapter. You might try a large metal filter wrench, like a 105 or 112, that might fit around the edge of that adapter.
05-02-2019, 01:23 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery