Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2019, 11:06 AM   #1

URGENT! Pentax K1 and YONGNUO YN585EX

Hi guys,

I hope you are all doing ok. I ve got a major issue and I would like to know if someone could help me out.

I recently bought a YONGNUO YN585EX with P TTL. Right out of the box it seemed to work fine with my K1, TTL, manual and everything. After that, I proceeded to try it out with my old 50mm 1.4 (manual lens), and then put another more modern lens back in, and it seems that it doesn't work properly anymore.

Now, TTL doesn't work at all, it just triggers a low flash, and when I put it on manual, flash doesn't even trigger. This all happened in about 20 minutes after opening the box.

Any clues? Am I missing something? I am new to flash photography, so I might be doing something wrong, but it's very frustrating and I need to use the flash in 2 days, and train a little bit with it.

Thanks to all!

07-05-2019, 11:37 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by rafaelvilallonga Quote
Am I missing something?
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

P-TTL only works with auto-focus lenses and A-series (KA mount). You will have to switch to manual flash with your 50/1.4. Why your flash is no longer behaving properly is probably something to take up with Yongnuo. Manual flash happens through the main flash contact and should always be at the strength specified at the flash (camera has no input). If you configure the flash for manual and it misbehaves, the flash is at fault. Testing with a fully manual flash on your K-1 should provide the means to determine conclusively whether it is the body or the flash that is at fault.

Steve

Last edited by stevebrot; 07-05-2019 at 07:38 PM. Reason: Completeness
07-05-2019, 12:35 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!