Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2019, 05:33 AM   #1

Several questions about lenses, speedlight, and some other stuff

Hello!

I'm a newbie from central Europe, just bought a first DSLR a few weeks back and making first attempt to some "serious" photography. I have got myself a nice Pentax K-3 with a Tamron 90mm macro, and having not so much left in my pocket I chose to pick some "Golden Oldies". I picked two - SMC Pentax-A 50mm f1.7 and SMC Pentax-F 70-210 f/4-5.6. I found some "issues" in them and would like to know if it's typical and safe for further use.

1. In 50mm the aperature ring is really hard to rotate, but as long as I can get it back to "A" position it's ok. I did some reading and found that this is actually very common - one or two positioning metal pieces underneath the ring are detached from the body, and causing the ring to jam. It works fine, so this is not a big deal, I will probably fix it by myself.

2. The zoom lens is also working fine (at least judging after a few test shots), but it has some problems that I couldn't came across on the web. First goes the focus ring - it's incredibly loose, I can move it in and out (parallel to the lens axis) by around 0.5mm and the same amount on the sides (perpendicular to the lens axis). It is probably just loose, beacuse I can't remove it with such ease as I move it. Rotating this ring is so light, that only the weight of rotating elements is the only resistance i feel. The last issue is moving tube inside. When I tilt this son of a rock I see, that the inside part, that extends move just a little back and forth (when I hold it in place there is a minimum rattle). Is this normal? Should I be afraid, that shortly this lens will be unusable due to "dysregulation" of the optics elements inside?

Other lenses