Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2019, 05:47 AM   #1

VIVITAR P&B 135mm

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen,
thanks for admitting me to your forum.

My name is Roger, I'm pretty new to photography. I was turned on to M42 lenses as a inexpensive way to quickly grow my lens collection.
To be honest, I went a little mad to start with.

Long story short, by the time I got round to checking my VIVITAR P&B 135mm TELEPHOTO LENS (T Mount) for infinity focus, I was delighted to find that it would do what I had been looking for ie, focus to infinity. I got some lovely results and went home happy.

Two days later, I took the lens out of my bag and it felt like the end was going to unscrew, and it was wobbling around an alarming amount.
Basically, the noob took a screwdriver to it and discovered that he was never going to be a lens technician. The biggest issue is all the aperture blades are out.
I only paid £17.50 for it, but it did what I wanted and I liked it's quirkiness, so my question is: What would it cost to get it repaired?

I have since bought another (later) Vivitar 135mm, but it doesn't do infinity.
Roger

11-24-2019, 06:22 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Roger,

Welcome to the forums!

Wow, all the aperture blades out sounds really bad. I'm afraid I'm definitely not a lens technician myself (nor is my husband for that matter). The other day he tried to fix the aperture ring of a Pentax 50mm A f/1.7 and unfortunately lost a tiny part. Somewhere on the internet I came across a link of a person in (I think it was) Surrey in the UK. He didn't have the missing part, but he does do lens repairs and he was very nice and helpful on the phone. Have a look at his site and maybe give him a ring? Here's the link: CAMERA REPAIRS, LENS REPAIRS in WEST LONDON , SURREY , TW17 , TW18 Good luck!
11-24-2019, 06:42 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums