Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
12-10-2019, 09:39 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Snow Pics

I'm heading to the snow in a couple of months, and I'll naturally be taking some camera gear. However, I have no experience taking pictures in a snowy environment. Does anyone have any photographic advice, e.g. how to set exposure? Also, is there any general advise about carrying & using camera gear in sub-zero conditions?

Thanks.

12-10-2019, 09:44 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

Overexpose by a a step or two, otherwise the snow will turn out grey. And now the whole world is a light reflector, makes for easy subject lighting

Lots of great tips in this excellent article by @mattb123; https://www.pentaxforums.com/articles/photo-articles/ski-photography-guide.html
QuoteQuote:
Speaking of exposure, another thing to consider is exposure compensation (the +/- button). When a scene is very bright, like a snow-covered landscape, the camera's meter will not set the exposure correctly on its own. The camera assumes the scenes you photograph are going to average out to be 18% gray and sets the exposure accordingly. When a scene is very bright, the exposure is too quick and what should look like white snow will come out underexposed, looking gray or blue. For a snowy scene, plan on setting the exposure compensation to +1 or so. The amount you need to set will vary with the light, sky, and the proportion of snow to other things like trees and rocks. With lots of snow and bright sun you may want to go higher, like +1.5. With more trees and shade only +.5 might be enough. I recommend using the histogram and enabling the blinking highlight/shadow warning feature to try to avoid blowing out the snow and correctly exposing other things like your skier. Monitor this and adjust as necessary as conditions change.
Have fun out there!
12-10-2019, 09:47 PM   #3
Pentaxian

HDR may help too.
12-11-2019, 04:15 AM   #4