Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
12-29-2019, 03:50 PM   #1

HI there, and a question about using a 64Gb card in a K-5

Hi there, I am new here, I am not a professional photographer, I mainly take pictures of my jewelry for my business, and occasionally family pictures. Way back when I first started I owned a Pentax K-1000, I loved that camera!! Then I switched to a Sony Mavica that died, after that I used my ipad to take pictures. BUT earlier year I went back to a Pentax and purchased a Pentax K-5, and am now relearning how to take pictures. So far I love it!

BUT I have a problem, when I bought the camera I picked up an SD card, just one, I didn't take many pictures. I had put the SD card into my laptop to transfer pictures and forgot it was in there. THEN the laptop was stolen. Last week I purchased another SD card off amazon, this one: SanDisk 64GB Extreme PRO SDXC UHS-I Card - C10, U3, V30, 4K UHD, SD Card - SDSDXXY-064G-GN4IN

But when I put it into my camera I get the message "cannot use this card"

So my question is: Did I purchase the wrong type of SD card? OR is this SD card defective? I already tossed the packaging so cannot return it. BUT I wanted to ask this before I go out an buy another wrong SD card.

Thank you

12-29-2019, 03:57 PM   #2
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: The Great Pacific Northwet, in the Land Between Canada and Mexico
Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by JennyPat Quote
Hi there, I am new here, I am not a professional photographer, I mainly take pictures of my jewelry for my business, and occasionally family pictures. Way back when I first started I owned a Pentax K-1000, I loved that camera!! Then I switched to a Sony Mavica that died, after that I used my ipad to take pictures. BUT earlier year I went back to a Pentax and purchased a Pentax K-5, and am now relearning how to take pictures. So far I love it!