Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-08-2020, 04:08 PM   #1

Pentax 645z shutter clicks twice

Hi everyone! I just bought Pentax 645z and have a question
I bought it used but in a great condition and fairly moderate shutter count. Today when I started shooting I could hear and see that the shutter was clicking twice when pressing fire button. It takes 1 image in the result (1 click of fire-2 clicks of shutter-one image) and an off-camera flash fires on the second click. I'm in a single shoot mode and bracketing is off. I was trying to find any information on what could have caused it online or in the manual, but without any luck. I reset the camera to factory settings, updated the software, tried without the lens - shutter still clicks twice no matter what I do. Also it seems to click after I go to view images and back. I'm not sure if that's the way it should be? Am I missing something? I use if with Fa120mm macro.

Appreciate any help!

01-08-2020, 04:49 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Are you using it in live view mode? That may explain the apparent double shutter sound.
01-08-2020, 05:23 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
As Above, I was going to ask if you were using LiveView, that has to close the shutter and drop the mirror, then open and close the shutter for the exposure, then it will reopen the sutter and lift the mirror to go back into LV mode.

Welcome aboard, with a Loverly Camera .
01-08-2020, 07:30 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by HarisF1 Quote
Are you using it in live view mode? That may explain the apparent double shutter sound.
Thanks for your response! Live view is off - that is wht I'm so confused

---------- Post added 01-08-20 at 07:38 PM ----------

Quite frankly it feels like it - almost any action I do - clicking playback, for examples - makes the shutter click. But live view is off.

01-08-2020, 07:46 PM   #5
Pentaxian