Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
02-26-2020, 10:01 AM   #1

"Grainy" Colors

Hi All, I got into DSLR's last year with a Canon 200D (Rebel) and Sigma 50-150mm lens to take pictures of my son's hockey games. A couple of months ago I sold it and bought a K-1 and the silver 90's era FA* 80-200mm 2.8. I was generally happy with it, but I'm noticing some of the colors appeared "grainy", especially blue, and a little black (see the attached picture).

I shot JPEG+DNG (JPEG is attached), with ISO 2000 or 2500, I did the white balance myself, and set color to Auto or Natural. I tried playing with the RAW file in AfterShot, but didn't manage to do any better...but I'm new to post-processing RAW files, so maybe there is a way to clean it up, I don't know.

In any case, is this typical of the K-1? Or the FA* lens? Or am I doing something wrong?
Thanks!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1  Photo 
02-26-2020, 10:21 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I cannot really see what you descripe. The jpeg artefacts by the compression algorithm are too much to see this. Any chance you can share the raw file?
What I do see is, that it is hard to see the actual focusing point and that I get slight color edges because of a presumably slightly wrong focusing. Is this what you mean? Generally speaking the dark blue and black parts are hard to process nicely, especialy with that kind of artificial lightning.
Btw, this is a great example where the player in the left third of the picture wouls be really great and more feet less head room would be benefitial too. Juat as a quick thought.
02-26-2020, 10:56 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by telesto Quote
In any case, is this typical of the K-1? Or the FA* lens? Or am I doing something wrong?
Thanks!