Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2020, 07:26 PM   #1
New Member




Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Sigma 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical

My K1 can not recognize this lens, ask me to put the focal length, and set as MF. but the lens autofocus works well on my k70, I does updated my K1 firmware to most current version recently. My k1 can autofocus this lens before. and after I set focul length, K1 can let me set F number to F1.4 on this lens. What should I do?

03-12-2020, 07:33 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
sergysergy's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,784
Try to clean the contacts.
03-13-2020, 01:59 AM   #3
Pentaxian




Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 477
Play with the aperture ring, set it to A. And also manipulate the lens to see if it's an internal contact issue.
03-13-2020, 01:05 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter




Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo West Virginia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 145
QuoteOriginally posted by HarisF1 Quote
Play with the aperture ring, set it to A. And also manipulate the lens to see if it's an internal contact issue.
i have done all that with my Sigma 17-35 and 24-70 but they do the same thing that leejim7112 is experiencing. older fa and older film era tamron lenses work perfectly so it has to be a Sigma problem. i had posted before that when i contacted Sigma the person i spoke to actually was somewhat nasty with me like "why are you still using pentax" i even loosened the mount on the 17-35 to see of it would move a little and it did but it would but still didn't communicate. these lenses date to my MZ-S and worked fine through the K3. i think its an electronic problem rather then a mechanical one especially Sigma is the only brand to have this problem.

03-13-2020, 03:02 PM   #5
Forum Member




Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 50
Might very well be an electronic problem. As I reported before in another thread, I had a similar issue with my (much older) Sigma 50-150; worked perfectly well on my K30 but not on my Kp. This was resolved by a firmware update of the lens here in Austria.
Suggest you contact your Sigma distributor?

Good luck, Gerard
03-13-2020, 06:44 PM   #6
New Member




Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Original Poster
Thank You all,Is it possible to undo the firmware update, it all happen after I updated the firmware.
03-14-2020, 05:59 AM   #7
Forum Member




Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 50
Found this old (May 2016) service update from Sigma regarding the K1;
Usage Notice for customers who are using Pentax mount SIGMA lenses on a PENTAX K-1
In some cases, depending on the lenses to be attached on the camera, the angle-of-view cannot be recognized automatically. Please select an angle-of-view that is appropriate for the lenses to be attached from “Crop” in the camera’s menu.

When DG lenses are attached, please select “FF”.
When DC lenses are attached, please select “APS-C”.

We appreciate your continued support for our company and products.


This suggests that there might not be a solution. Don't know how the K1 firmware upgrade interfered with it though.....

Cheers, Gerard
03-14-2020, 09:44 AM   #8
Veteran Member
Oldbayrunner's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Havre de Grace, MD
Posts: 1,322
QuoteOriginally posted by nitehntr Quote
i have done all that with my Sigma 17-35 and 24-70 but they do the same thing that leejim7112 is experiencing. older fa and older film era tamron lenses work perfectly so it has to be a Sigma problem. i had posted before that when i contacted Sigma the person i spoke to actually was somewhat nasty with me like "why are you still using pentax" i even loosened the mount on the 17-35 to see of it would move a little and it did but it would but still didn't communicate. these lenses date to my MZ-S and worked fine through the K3. i think its an electronic problem rather then a mechanical one especially Sigma is the only brand to have this problem.
I have no problem with my Sigma 17-35mm EX DG or any other of my Sigma lens with my K1 ll.

03-14-2020, 07:34 PM   #9
New Member




Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Original Poster
I have other sigma lenses, all work fine. include 18-35mm aspherical

---------- Post added 03-14-20 at 07:39 PM ----------

17-35mm f2.8-4 aspherical work just fine. if 12-24mm not work on my k70, I will think it is a lens problem. but it work well on k70. so the problem is something related to camera, K1. otherwise I can not explain why work on k70, but not on k1. and it worked on k1 before.

---------- Post added 03-14-20 at 07:45 PM ----------

I set as FF, not work. when I turn on K1, it automatically ask me to choose the focal length immediately, and I even can set f number to 1.2, which shows something wrong. it is f4.5-5.6 lens.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
autofocus, camera, f4.5-5.6 ex dg, fine, k1, k70, lens, pentax help, photography, pm, post, sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6, troubleshooting
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sigma 24mm f1.8 EX Aspherical DG DF Macro pepperberry farm Lens Sample Photo Archive 12 04-23-2020 11:37 AM
Sigma 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical Scorpio71GR Lens Sample Photo Archive 3 11-01-2017 07:30 PM
Pentax 12-24mm vs Sigma 12-24mm & Tamron 10-24mm Comparative Review Adam Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 7 03-23-2012 03:07 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top