Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-13-2020, 12:20 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter




Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 355
Pentax 100mm f2.8 A exposure issues

Hi All.

I'm just wondering about something. I just got a the 100mm f2.8 A macro, a beautiful lens (I love macros), but I've noticed an odd issue. If I actually use the lens on anything other than 'A' autoexposure and shoot Av it nails the exposure. When I put the lens on the 'A' setting it often way over exposes the image. What gives? I don't seem to have issues with other A lenses

04-13-2020, 12:31 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter
Parallax's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Dakota
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 17,283
Sound like sluggish/sticky blades.
04-13-2020, 12:38 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter




Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Goldsboro North Carolina
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 1,673
It sounds like the camera isn't able to actuate the aperture stop-down lever to the f-stop you've set in the camera. With the lens off the camera and on the 'A' setting, can you physically move the stop down lever and see the aperture closing down?
04-13-2020, 01:52 PM - 1 Like   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
stevebrot's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver (USA)
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 37,275
QuoteOriginally posted by stemked Quote
If I actually use the lens on anything other than 'A' autoexposure and shoot Av it nails the exposure. When I put the lens on the 'A' setting it often way over exposes the image.
I agree that it sounds like the lens is not stopping down properly (e.g. "sticky/sluggish: aperture).

You can test by flicking the actuator lever on the back of the lens with your finger at various aperture ring settings. The action should be snappy with no hesitation at all settings.


Steve

04-13-2020, 02:45 PM   #5
Pentaxian




Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 2,683
Since the problem does not occur with your other "A" lenses, this lens is obviously defective. I would contact the seller regarding a return and refund.

I further suggest the much more recent Pentax DFA 100mm f/2.8. The current better-built WR version costs more, but has no aperture ring, if that is of importance to you, while the original DFA 100mm f/2.8 having the same optics can be found at a far lower price and does feature an aperture ring.
04-13-2020, 04:18 PM   #6
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
stevebrot's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver (USA)
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 37,275
QuoteOriginally posted by mikesbike Quote
I further suggest the much more recent Pentax DFA 100mm f/2.8. The current better-built WR version costs more, but has no aperture ring, if that is of importance to you, while the original DFA 100mm f/2.8 having the same optics can be found at a far lower price and does feature an aperture ring.
The Pentax-FA 100/2.8 Macro (nice build) might also be considered as might the Pentax-F 100/2.8 since all four lenses share the same design and optical performance. That said, the OP's Pentax-A 100/2.8 is a bit of a classic with significant reputation and may be worth servicing, depending, of course, on how much they paid.


Steve

Last edited by stevebrot; 04-13-2020 at 04:31 PM.
04-13-2020, 04:45 PM   #7
Pentaxian
Wheatfield's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The wheatfields of Canada
Posts: 12,340
QuoteOriginally posted by stemked Quote
Hi All.

I'm just wondering about something. I just got a the 100mm f2.8 A macro, a beautiful lens (I love macros), but I've noticed an odd issue. If I actually use the lens on anything other than 'A' autoexposure and shoot Av it nails the exposure. When I put the lens on the 'A' setting it often way over exposes the image. What gives? I don't seem to have issues with other A lenses
That happened to my A100/2.8 Macro. It was sticky aperture blades. I had it CLA's and there has been no recurrence.
04-13-2020, 07:12 PM   #8
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter
pschlute's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 4,343
QuoteOriginally posted by stemked Quote
. If I actually use the lens on anything other than 'A' autoexposure and shoot Av it nails the exposure
Just for your info.......with the lens set to an actual aperture click stop, and in Av mode, the lens will always be wide open during exposure.

Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
100mm, camera, exposure, f2.8, f2.8 a exposure, issues, lens, overexposure a lens, pentax 100mm f2.8, pentax help, photography, troubleshooting
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FA 100mm f3.5 or D-FA 100mm f2.8 (non WR)? abruzzi Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 18 03-22-2019 12:57 PM
Pentax F-100mm f2.8 macro vs Pentax D FA-100mm f2.8 macro WR pentaz Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 8 07-03-2013 06:22 AM
Pentax-D FA 100mm F2.8 Macro WR or Pentax-FA 100mm F2.8 Macro jkobleur Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 3 09-05-2011 06:47 PM
100mm f2.8 macro FA vs new 100mm mavro f2.8 DA stemked Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 19 08-23-2010 01:34 PM
FA 100mm f2.8 Macro vs D FA 100mm f2.8 macro David Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 4 10-22-2007 07:11 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top