Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2020, 03:27 AM   #1

Need Advice: Used Pentax 645 film camera or Pentax kp.

Dear all.

Need your good suggestion.
Wonder to buy Pentax kp to replace my k20d (lcd screen starting malfunction. My Pentax km view finder and lcd screen all blur).

Found that the used Pentax 645 film camera bundle with lens is it worth it compare to Pentax kp.

Again, thanks for your advice.

04-19-2020, 04:19 AM - 1 Like   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
you can find " user reviews " for medium format Pentax Cameras here

Pentax Film Cameras - Pentax Camera Reviews and Specifications

I have no experience with one but it seems to me to be comparing " apples to oranges "
04-19-2020, 06:09 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I guess that depends on whether you want an APS-C digital SLR or a medium format film SLR.

They're quite different.
04-19-2020, 06:31 AM - 2 Likes   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

The old manual-focus 645 body had some shortcomings and personally I opted for a 645N autofocus. This modern version (645N) was more user-friendly and provided a beautiful finder image. OTOH, a digital camera costs almost nothing to operate while a film camera costs money each time you fire the shutter (around 1.00 dollar per image). I still have reserves of Fuji Reala and Kodak Ektar 100 films in my freezer but I find digital to be more rewarding as it gives instantaneous results (you don't have to find a sometimes far-away film processor), resolution and contrast are above any reproach and you simply delete an image you don't like. Just my 2 cents !

Regards

04-19-2020, 07:38 AM - 1 Like   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Pentax 645 film cannot substitute your k20d. But Pentax KP can.
04-19-2020, 08:16 AM - 1 Like   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter