Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-25-2020, 07:28 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

IR Remote Help Please

Greetings all and hope everyone is hanging in there alright.
Recently grabbed my old K01 and tried to use an IR remote, something I've never done before.
As you can tell by the title, no success.
Set the drive to both remote and remote with 3s delay. Remote icon shows in lcd and red light flashes on front.
Also set AF to adjust with remote in cpanel/menus for another attempt.

The remote I'm trying to use is a Vello for Pentax but also tried my TV remote as well.
Batteries in remotes are good according to voltmeter and as the K01 is modified to full spectrum, I can see the signals flashing from the remotes if I point through the lens.
Have pointed the remote at the red light as well as scanned it all around the camera from about 6 inches away to about 6mm up close.
Also tried with my K1 with no success either, both front and rear red lights are flashing.
Wondering what I might be missing here, as I have no manuals and couldn't find anything specific in the forums.
Thanks in advance to any and all who might be able to set my brain in the right direction.

04-25-2020, 07:54 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

haven't had any success with TV remote....the cheap Chinese IRs I have for pentax are at times hit or miss even in very close proximity with good batteries.....so not much help as it can be a mystery to me at times....

the red light blinking would indicate you have the camera in the correct drive mode
04-25-2020, 08:01 PM - 1 Like   #3
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Aaron28 Quote
the red light blinking would indicate you have the camera in the correct drive mode
^^^^ Yes, this. ^^^^
As you have tried it on both your K-01 and K-1, I also feel it is the remote unit itself that is the problem. Good luck.
04-25-2020, 11:24 PM - 1 Like   #4