Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-31-2008, 12:08 AM   #1
Inactive Account

colours of Pentax

Hello all,

I'm still trying to make up my mind whether to buy Pentax or Canon. I have no real experience with either of them, only with a Nikon D50 that I have used for the last 2 years and which i've just sold.
When I look at this site: PENTAX Photo Gallery, and i look at the colours, my mouth just falls open. So my question is: are these pictures very post processed, or are these pretty much the colours one gets out of the camera?
If it's the latter case, I'd make up my mind very fast

Thanks in advance

10-31-2008, 02:41 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
But you said you had already decided to get the K200D in your first post anyway

I guess (having 'only' the K100D) that the K200D does its job very well colorwise.

I've looked at the link you have posted and it seems to me that colors in some of those pics are really pushed to the limit. But that's a matter of taste and you can get this kind of color-pop from the standard settings of a Pentax camera (it's called 'vivid' color mode on mine).

Compared to Canon you really do get better colors from out-of-the-cam jpegs, especially skin tones. FWIW the Sonys don't do it that good either. And you get the shake reduction with a choosable range from 8mm focal length to 800mm. I even used this on tripods with long lenses, cause I can't spend a fortune for a real massive tripod and head (let alone carrying it).

K100D + cheapo manual M42 300mm lens @f/11 handheld + pentax shake reduction

The best thing is of course, should you choose Pentax, this forum!

Have fun with whatever you choose,
Georg (the other)
11-01-2008, 12:36 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Well i made up my mind and took the K200D + some normal DA lenses and 1 prime (50 1.4). Can't wait to take pictures but the weather won't let me for now.