Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-11-2020, 01:16 PM   #1

Pentax ES-II: confusion on TTL metering

Hello, first time posting! I have a entry level question. I have no experience beforehand w/ SLR's and have mostly shot through rangefinders. I just received my prints shot through an inherited Pentax ES-II. The pictures came out with mixed results however. Most images were underexposed and some with a slight motion blur. Reading up on the user's guide, I'm confused about TTL metering. My process has been to, ''focus'' on the subject and then set the f-stop to match the, ''needle'' in the middle as highlighted. The camera itself has been set to Automatic with the exposure dial as 1x. I believe the error on my part being that I was treating the meter as an, ''exposure needle'' than a guide for shutter speed. I believe that may be the cause of the blurriness in some images as lower the number?

I wanted to test F1.4 and disregarded whatever the needle read. And shot this flower reading at 500-1000. While other images lined at, ''15-60'' did not came out as visible. I guess what I'm asking is, '' the why'' and what exactly am I looking for in that meter/needle? If somebody can be kind enough to dumb up this up for me. I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!

Attached Images

05-11-2020, 02:00 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by sailom Quote
My process has been to, ''focus'' on the subject and then set the f-stop to match the, ''needle'' in the middle as highlighted. The camera itself has been set to Automatic with the exposure dial as 1x. I believe the error on my part being that I was treating the meter as an, ''exposure needle'' than a guide for shutter speed. I believe that may be the cause of the blurriness in some images as lower the number?