Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
4 Days Ago   #1

Photos: Gallery
Bellows m-42 in digital cameras?

Hello:
I am interested in buying a bellows, I had thought about this type of bellows:
PENTAX Bellows Unit (M42) reviews - Pentax Camera Accessory Review Database
Is there a problem using it with the K5-II or with the K-1?
I guess I will have to use an m-42 ring to Pk to attach it to the camera, does it touch on the camera body or with the ring is enough?
I have no experience with bellows, any advice you want to give me, it will go very well.
Thank you.

4 Days Ago   #2
Pentaxian

The first thing that springs to mind: do you have any/many M42 lenses? A K mount bellows would be usable with more lenses, but if the price is right the M42 bellows will work fine with M42 lenses.
4 Days Ago   #3

Original Poster
Hello
I have a pair of m42 lenses a Helios 44 M-6 58/2 and an Industar - 50-2 50mm.
With this alone, would it be better to buy a PK bellows?
Thanks for your time
4 Days Ago   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Depends on what you are going to use the bellows for. If I remember right it was designed to work with a 50mm lens so your Industar would work. But you can use it with any 42mm lens.

I think @wasp was just noting that if you have more k-mount lenses that you want to use it with then a k-mount bellows make sense. But there is nothing wrong with the M42 one if you have the lenses to work with.

Mine is the M42 version and it works fine.

4 Days Ago   #5

I recommend you download and read Murray O'Neil's excellent eBook on the Pentax Bellows
The Pentax Bellows eBook - Articles and Tips | PentaxForums.com

He discusses using the various Pentax bellows with DSLRs including the m42 Auto Bellows.

I own the Auto Bellows and have used it on K10D prior to when this eBook was released. Here's what I found (some of which is also in the book):