Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
05-23-2020, 03:29 PM   #1

Pentax K-X images with noise

Hello. I am a new owner of a second hand Pentax KX. The camera seems to work very well, but all my images are with noise (pixels) even at low ISO and are not very sharp (the photos look like were made with a 20 year old phone VGA camera). I tried every setting on and off, i tried different scenes and programs. Nothing. Only HDR ON seems to do something better, but still far away. My phone on auto is doing a lot better than this DSLR. I read a lot of good things about the KX and i think i am doing something wrong. Can you help me with some settings or advice? Maybe I am missing something. I am a beginner, i shot JPEGs right now.

I attached 2 photos, the ugly one shot with the KX (the best i could...) and the good one shot with phone in a hurry.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo   
05-23-2020, 03:39 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Brutanox Quote
even at low ISO and are not very sharp
The EXIF shows that the top photo was shot at 6400 ISO. That is not "low ISO". It's quite high and I would certainly expect to see noise.
Now, having said that, I don't see a sharpness problem. I see a distinct midtone contrast difference between the two pictures. A curves adjustment would go a long way towards correcting that.
You didn't say what your jpeg settings are.
05-23-2020, 04:02 PM   #3

Original Poster
What the...6400?! You are right. How the hell got to max? It was on "auto mode". In pentamirror was 800 or so (auto), so i was sure it was low, didn't even check. What did i do wrong? And why does auto set the iso to max level?
05-23-2020, 04:10 PM   #4

Original Poster