Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-28-2020, 03:04 PM   #1

*ist DS won't shoot in AF or MF modes

I have a *ist DS with the stock smc PENTAX-DA lens. The batteries are new and good and the SD card is readable in playback mode, so I assume it isn't a card issue. I've walked myself through the whole manual and I cannot get the shutter to fire in AF or MF modes. I don;t see any obvious errors in the LCD panel, monitor or viewfinder. Any advice?

The camera has sat for a few years (with batteries removed), but prior to that it wasn't used very much, so it shouldn't be any kind of wear-and-tear issue. I'm a rank amateur and out of my depth here, so any advice its sincerely appreciated!

06-28-2020, 03:45 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
You say the card is readable in playback mode, does it have photos on it? If so, download them and format the card in camera. It may be full or corrupted where it won't write. If you have already formatted the card in camera disregard this.
06-28-2020, 04:15 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by BadJuju Quote
The batteries are new and good
What batteries are you using? I'm learning the hard way that the *ist series seems to be fussy about batteries, especially if it has sat for a while. Try repeatedly turning it off an on, and it might wake up.
06-28-2020, 09:19 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by BadJuju Quote
the SD card is readable
What is the spec of the SD card. The DS is a very old model. It wont work with large size very modern cards.

06-29-2020, 02:10 PM   #5
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by pschlute Quote
What is the spec of the SD card. The DS is a very old model. It wont work with large size very modern cards.
this article might help out

QuoteQuote:
. . . Pentax DSLR Compatibility