Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-13-2020, 03:03 PM   #1

Auto focus is won't focus at all and is "jumpy".

I am pretty new to the photography world so fair warning!!!

I haven't been able to find any issues like this so I thought I'd post. I have a Pentax kx and it works great except for the auto focus feature. I can hear the motor turn and the picture through the viewfinder will go in and out of focus several times rapidly before stopping (out of focus). It sort of jumps back and forth a few times and can't seem to focus on anything. I have cleaned the sensor and mirror on it - done a couple of other cleaning routines to see if it helps and nothing has. I updated the firmware and reset everything to factory settings as well. I also have another larger zoom lens that came with it and it does the same thing with that.

Maybe I need to clean it better or don't have something calibrated? I would take it to a camera repair shop but those are hard to find. I can try and post a video of it if it would help?

I can't seem to find anything online with the same issue - any help is much appreciated!

07-13-2020, 03:05 PM   #2
Custom User Title
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Does it happen both through the viewfinder and in live view?
07-13-2020, 03:21 PM   #3
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
is this a new camera to you?

had it been working and now it won't auto-focus?

is with a specific lens but no other lenses?
07-13-2020, 04:00 PM   #4
dbs
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Hi Liam

What are you and the camera trying to focus on.
By your description I think the auto - focus does not know what to focus on, I believe it works better if it has something with dark and light areas next to each other.
Have you tried to manual focus and if so was that more reliable for you ?

Dave

07-13-2020, 04:03 PM   #5

Did you clean the autofocus sensor under the mirror?