Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
07-19-2020, 08:34 PM   #1

Weird aperture issue with the 43mm Limited and a ZX-5N

Hi all,

I am brand new to Pentax, but familiar with other systems and I almost exclusively shoot film. To get into Pentax, I just acquired the 43mm FA Limited and a ZX-5N, which came with the standard 28-80 FA kit lens.

I am having a weird issue that I cannot solve. For some reason, some aperture values on the 43mm are being treated as A. From f/4 to f/9.5, the camera treats the aperture as A and therefore operates on P mode (when the shutter dial is set to A; Tv otherwise). On f/11, the camera switches back and forth between Av and P. Then from f/1.9 to f/3.5 and f/16 to f/22, the camera reads those apertures correctly and will operate in Av or M modes. When the aperture is set to A, the camera treats it correctly as A.

The 28-80 zoom works correctly at all apertures.

I have cleaned the contacts both on the camera and lens. The mechanical aspects of the lens and camera seem correct, and the lens does stop down to shoot. But with this issue I just can't manually use apertures between f/4-11, which is really frustrating. Also, for what it's worth, when the camera is treating, say, f/8 as A and is therefore in P mode, the camera will select those middle apertures and will fire with those apertures selected in P.

It seems obviously to be a communication error, but it's weird to me that the issue only presents on those middle apertures.

Any ideas?

Thanks for the help!

07-20-2020, 04:55 AM   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forums

you will find friendly members and knowledge here:

link to manual;

PENTAX ZX-5N OPERATING MANUAL Pdf Download | ManualsLib

link to " owner reviews "
QuoteQuote:
description: