Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
6 Days Ago   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Focusing problems with Sigma 17-50 on KP

Okay, I have something weird going on. I bought a (second-hand) Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 HSM OS and paired it with my KP. I already own 2 HSM Sigmas that I'm quite pleased with. The AF is nearly always fast and on target. However, as soon as I started playing with this lens, I noticed that it was hunting an awful lot and often refused to lock focus, unlike my other Sigmas. I cleaned the contacts - no difference. As I bought the lens in a camera shop, I have a 12-month guarantee, but before returning it, I want to make sure that I'm not doing something wrong.

Now the weird thing is: initially I'd turned the OS on the lens off and the in-camera SR on; that's when it didn't work. I then decided to do it the other way around: OS (lens) On - SR (camera) off. Lo and behold: it seems to work flawlessly: fast and accurate focusing; no hunting to speak of .

I've no idea what's going on. In an in-depth comparison test here on PF it says 'based on our testing we found no statistically significant difference between the in-lens and in-body stabilization systems.' As my experience seems to be different, could this vary from camera to camera?

If anybody has any ideas/suggestions, I'd love to hear them!

Thanks in advance!

Lidy

6 Days Ago - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Sigma on Pentax are known to be a bit finicky... but it seems like you found a way to make the focus work every time - so why not stick with that?
I think only some very early copies of the Sigma 17-50 2.8 had in-lens OS, so you might be lucky to have it!
6 Days Ago - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Sigma 17-50 was designed and produced way before KP was released. I would guess there's an incompatibility between the lens and the camera.
This lens doesn't support updating firmware, so no way of resolving the problem on your own.