Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-07-2020, 01:54 AM   #1

Pentax 67 film spool screw not spinning when advancing the lever

Hey guys! I'm really new to my Pentax 67. I have used one film in this and it loaded fine the first time. I am now trying to load it again and the film spool won't spin when I put this in the right side and try and load my film onto it. When I take the spool out and crank the camera I can see the screw is spinning but the two bits that stick out to catch the film spool doesn't spin with it? Anyone else had this problem? I really hope it's something that is fixable!

08-07-2020, 03:53 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Apparently this is fixable. Maybe something has jammed, got into the rewind mechanism and jammed it? Watch closely again, you may notice something.
The camera is old enough, the part may need replacement or repair. If so, you need to contact a specialized service (if possible).
08-07-2020, 09:33 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by cwhite98 Quote
Hey guys! I'm really new to my Pentax 67. I have used one film in this and it loaded fine the first time. I am now trying to load it again and the film spool won't spin when I put this in the right side and try and load my film onto it. When I take the spool out and crank the camera I can see the screw is spinning but the two bits that stick out to catch the film spool doesn't spin with it? Anyone else had this problem? I really hope it's something that is fixable!
Ensure that the nibs are firmly engaged in top and bottom slots of the take-up spool. If they are not, you will see the nibs move but not the spool.