Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2020, 09:59 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Water proofing or protection

Not sure i am posting this in the right place and could not find a thread on this subject, i am new to both pentax and kayaking, but i want to take my camera long for island hopping, and photos on the water, what do you guys suggest to protect the camera incase of roll over (full submersed) and water splashes(gone for a swim)?

Last edited by TMcDaniel; 08-21-2020 at 10:51 AM.
08-21-2020, 10:35 AM   #2
maw
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by TMcDaniel Quote
i am new to both pentax and kayaking, but i want to take my camera long for island hopping, and photos on the water, what do you guys suggest to protect the camera incase of roll over and water splashes,?
Hi,

Pentax are known for their weather resistance, (I don't know if there is a custom-made one) but if I could find a shell it would certainly be much wiser.
An example for the K3 here, it's a bit expensive but certainly reliable even for diving.

Link: Case Reflex

Ciao Mario
08-21-2020, 10:43 AM   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

A weather-resistant body coupled with weather-resistant ("WR" designated) lens is fine for light rain and splashes. Just be sure to wipe the whole thing down occasionally, as standing water around joins and seals is where you're most likely to suffer ingress. Also, if it's salt water, it can corrode some metal parts (even painted ones) over time if not wiped off.