Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 18 Likes Search this Thread
09-24-2020, 12:12 PM   #1

Macro Lenses.

Hello, could you recommend some Macro Lenses for the Pentax K100D / K100D Super please, i'm new to DSLR cameras and would like to take photos of insects etc. Many thanks.

09-24-2020, 12:29 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For insects, I usually like to have some working distance, so I'd recommend a 100mm lens minimum for your workflow.

This lens is my current "go to" macro lens. It is fantastic.

SMC Pentax-D FA 100mm F2.8 Macro WR Reviews - D FA Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

I used this lens for decades before it got dropped. Another fantastic lens.

SMC Pentax-FA 100mm F2.8 Macro Reviews - FA Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

I'll get the lens when I win the lottery. I can dream.

SMC Pentax-FA* 200mm F4 Macro ED [IF] Reviews - FA Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

If you're looking for a longer reach than 100mm, I can recommend this non Pentax lens. There is one for sale in the Marketplace right now.

Irix 150mm F2.8 Macro 1:1 Lens Reviews - Miscellaneous Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database

You can't go wrong with any of the options above. The lens you need is really based on what your workflow requires.
09-24-2020, 12:40 PM - 3 Likes   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Best value readily obtainable 1:2 macro IMO: tamron adaptall 90mm 52B/52BB. Manual focus of course but thats usually the mode with macro anyway. Excellent iq overall, some users note a bit of sensor reflection occasionally. Typically £60-90 (UK). Plus cost of a mount. Achieve 1:1 with the matching 18F extender, generic extension tubes, 3rd party close focus filter like raynox or the 01F 2x tc.