Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
10-06-2020, 08:44 AM   #1

New to Pentax K30 with 18-55mm lens

I have been fooling around with the Pentax K30 lately, and to say I'm not tech savvy is an understatement. I'm always afraid that if I press something, then it will mess everything else up and I won't be able to get the settings back to what they were originally.
Anyway, I have a Pentax K30 with a 18-55mm lens and the other info is SMC Pentax DA

I am wondering what settings I should have it on for normal, every day shooting of my children both inside and outside. If there is a change, how do I do it with minimal thinking. LOL

Also, I'm figuring out that my favorite photography is candid shots. I like to be inconspicuous and not in the way when I'm taking photos and I like to capture true moments with families, children, interaction... both inside and outside. Nothing staged or posed.
What would be the best lens for that that would fit and work well with my camera? Would an additional flash be something to add to take better photos?

What is the AF/AE-L little button for?
What is the little button for, on the top right, with the green dot on it?
What should the little dial be set to on the left side - AF.S, C, or MF? What does all that mean?

I'm trying to go through the manual, but with all the referencing to different pages and camera language, I'm finding it hard to get it to make sense.

I like a lot of blur in the background as well... how would I achieve that without being right in the subjects face or close a particular object?

Sorry for so many questions... I have a book to write down all my acquired knowledge.
Thank you all so much!!!

10-06-2020, 08:56 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forums, lots of assistance from the members will come,I'm sure. In the meantime browse through the sections here lots of questions can be answered in posts already made!

Cheers!