Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 16 Likes Search this Thread
11-15-2020, 03:31 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Fungus? Worth fixing?

I have an Auto Rikenon 28mm f2.8 with what appears to be fungus on one of the rear elements. Is this an easy fix? Is it best to strip it from the back? And what is the best cleaning solution? I have never done this so any help or guidance would be well received. It has really good reviews on PF, otherwise I wouldn't bother but I am not an engineer, so, heeeeelp

Attached Images

11-15-2020, 03:48 PM - 5 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Put it in a sealed bag, and burn it
11-15-2020, 03:53 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Sandy Hancock Quote
Put it in a sealed bag, and burn it
That is vying to be option 1 I have a nice chinon 28mm (the super sharp one) and a tokina that is a gem. I also have a soligor 28mm made by sun so I wouldn't miss the rikenon, but, if it as good as the reviews say .....
11-15-2020, 04:59 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
If you already have 28mm lenses what's to lose in trying?

11-15-2020, 05:07 PM - 1 Like   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

If you do, make sure you have JIS screw drivers or you will damage the screw heads. Have some way to keep the screws in, magnetism works well. The screws are tiny. take pictures of each step. You may need a spanner. You need a well lit work table. Good Luck!
11-15-2020, 05:17 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

If you decide to try it (and I encourage you to), carefully disassemble from the back noting the orientation of the parts as you take them out. Once you get to the offending glass use Hydrogen Peroxide liberally. It may not get back to mint if there is some etching but it will improve. Make sure it is clean and dust free with a microfiber towel and put it back together.