Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2020, 11:00 AM   #1

Pentax 6x7 meter needle stays at bottom

Hi, I am new to this forum. Hope I am not breaking any rules as I am not sure where to post this question.

I just started shooting film and was very fortunate that a friend gave me her dad's 6x7. I am new to the camera but noticed I have the reverse problem as the OP. I put in a new battery. In AUTO mode, the meter needle only stays at the bottom and doesn't move regardless of the aperture change. I checked and the chain is not broken. The battery light check comes on. If I put the stop-down lever on the lens to MAN, then the needle moves accordingly. I have pulled the lens and prism (in correct order) and the contact points are super clean. I have read some older posts on this forum regarding this issue and followed the standard checks but it doesn't appear the issue was resolved.

Would love to know if anyone has any new ideas. Also, can i meter in the stopped-down mode, switched back to AUTO and shoot. Or can I meter in the stopped-down mode and shoot in that mode. I have a light meter but would like to be able to shoot and scoot without having to pull out my meter. Thanks for any responses.

11-20-2020, 01:47 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I can't offer much help except to say try changing the ISO to different setting and see if you get a response. And of course it goes without saying to make sure the meter's ON/OFF switch is activated before metering.

I have use my Pentax 67 for a long time without the TTL (I use the folding hood). And last time I put it on the TTL prism, I had some problems. At some ISO settings it didn't work at all. And the stop-down metering did not agree with AUTO metering. There was a several stops difference. I don't think the TTL holds up to time/age. But I dunno.
11-20-2020, 06:58 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Remove the TTL prism and inspect the 2 connection tangs on the base.