Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2020, 09:00 AM   #1

How to set a minimum shutter speed (with auto-iso) on 645z

As the Tav mode doesn't work with 67 lenses, and as the constructor refuses to allow auto-iso mode in manual, the camera is able to have a minimum shutter speed and auto iso, I mean technically, but the menus don't allow me to make the setting. Is there anyone here who managed to solve this problem ? I'm a street photographer and really need to set up this before being forced to buy a lense just to get this "feature".

12-09-2020, 09:24 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Not directly answering your question since i don't have a 645. On Pentax dslrs of smaller formats there's no function for a min shutter speed. My gr iii has it though. As a workaround, for the dslr I use a combination of higher iso 800 on a sunny day and aperture priority to allow changes in shutter speed while still being fast enough.
12-09-2020, 09:57 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

What ae you really trying to do?
Put the camera in AV mode. It can auto-ISO and adjust shutter speed.

Manual - Auto-ISO mode in manual is not an option because it's MANUAL. Everything under the photographer's control.

A lens without aperture data or control such as a 67 lens mounted on the 645Z is not controllable by the camera and no aperture data is provided. So the camera has no way to calculate the aperture part of the equation.
In Av mode, it is trying to give you a viable, properly exposured shot, and the only way to do that is evaluate the meter data, and drive the shutter speed, and/or gain to the sensor (ISO).

There is no minimum shutter speed setting.

Menu - Camera 2
ISO Sensitivity AUTO setting - this can be used to expand the range and behaviour a bit.

Have fun experimenting!
12-09-2020, 10:57 AM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Bruce_D Quote