Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-28-2021, 01:35 AM   #1

Recently Recieved Pentax Cameras Looking for Info

I have no photography experience at all, and received a set of camera equipment, looking to see if what I have is worth keeping or throwing out. Any info would be greatly appreciated

What I have
Cameras:

Pentax ME Super
Asahi Pentax SP 1000
Asahi Pentax ME

Lenses:
SMC Pentax-M 1:1.6 50mm
Yashikor 35mm 1:2.8
Vivitar 85-205mm 1:3.8

Vinson Auto 2x Converter

Asahi Super-Muli-Coated Takumar 1:3.5/135
Tasman 1:2.8 f=35mm 55
Eyemik auto tele converter 2x
Sigma Telemac Vario 2x auto

02-28-2021, 02:15 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by twirlysphinx Quote
I have no photography experience at all, and received a set of camera equipment, looking to see if what I have is worth keeping or throwing out.
Although I can give you an opinion on theoretically what's best and what's not, ultimately the only answer that matters would require someone that knows photography who can tell you the condition of the equipment.

IF the cameras are in working condition, they are worth keeping if you are willing to invest the time to learn and the cost of film and processing. However, someone with experience needs to examine them to see if the light seals are good, the shutter works and is in within reasonable accuracy, if the light meter works, if the winding and rewind mechanism all work, etc.

Do the lenses focus smoothly? Does the aperture work at all f/stops? Does the zoom work smoothly? When shining a flash light through the back of the lens, is it relatively scratch, dust, and fungus free?

Usually nothing is in mint condition nor completely unrepairable. In general, the cost of repair will meet or exceed the cost of buying the equipment in working condition.
02-28-2021, 02:35 AM   #3

Original Poster
More Info