Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-19-2008, 02:28 AM   #1

PLEASE HELP Need Advice re Lens Options etc

Hi there,
I'm new to digital SLR photography and have a K10D with the Sigma 18 - 125mm lens.
I also have a 35mm SLR the Z20 with Sigma 35- 80mm and Sigma Aspherical 28 - 200mm lens.

I am told that these 2 lens are compatible with my K10D but am not sure about the pros and cons of using them.

The standard 18 - 125mm lens that came with the camera has been OK for general outdoor photography but as soon as I have atempted to take indoor shots from a distance like at my daughter's basketball or school functions I get really poor results (hand held) as the lens just doesn't seem to work well at all in low light unless I could set up and use a tripod.

Anyone who can explain the technical reasons for this and offer advice as to another lens to purchase would be greatly appreciated. Would an 18 - 55mm for example be a good starting point?

I take mainly outdoor landscape shots but also indoor family and friends shots as well as the odd indoor function ie sport (as mentioned)

I have just found a very good condition used Sigma 18 - 50mm f/ 3.5 - 5.6 DC lens for sale for under $200 AUD here in Sydney. Would this be a useful lens for me to grab now?

Thanks very much

Last edited by mike star; 11-19-2008 at 05:26 AM. Reason: Added information
11-19-2008, 07:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

If you are shooting action, indoors with poor light conditions, you would want a "faster" lens. These are lenses with an f stop of at least 4 and prefferably 2.8.

Unless you can use a flash, these variable ap. lenses just don't open wide enough.

SR is helpful indoor.

Dave
11-19-2008, 09:58 AM   #3
Forum Member

Hi Mike - I'm no expert - but these are some things that might help.

A newbie to a newbie if you will :-)