Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-24-2021, 05:47 PM   #1

K10D lens Manual or auto?

This is my first post on this forum so I'm feeling my way.

I loved my Asahi Pentax film camera when I was traveling but when I went digital I switched to Canon. When the Canon broke down I thought I'd go back to Pentax (but without spending too much money)

I bought a K10D (body only) and had planned to use the old Asahi Pentax lenses with an adapter. However I then decided to buy a Sigma 18-50mm lens and through a couple of deals on eBay I am now a proud owner of:
  • K10D
  • K100D
  • Sigma 18-50mm (Manual)
  • Sigma 18-50mm (Auto
I plan to use the K10D but I'm not too sure whether I should retain the manual or auto lens. Apparently professionals would use the manual (I am not a professional!) as auto lenses are not good in low light conditions.

Should I keep the manual or auto lens and give the other lens (plus K100D) to my son?

Thanks in advance

03-24-2021, 05:57 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum! There are a number of different Sigma 18-50mm lenses so it's not clear from your post which models you have. Some get better reviews than other.
When you say "Auto", do you mean autofocus (AF), or do you mean a manual lens with an A (auto) setting for the aperture ring?

Gifting the one body and lens to your son seems like a good idea if your son is also interested in photography. I gave my K5 and some lenses to my daughter.
03-24-2021, 06:00 PM   #4
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

welcome to the forums

you will find friendly members and a lot of knowledge here

this chart can be used to show how lenses work with your K 10D and K 100D

QuoteQuote:
Pentax K-mount Lens Compatibility Chart
Copyright 2006-2020 Mosphotos.com. All rights reserved.
The Pentax K-mount Camera Lens Compatibility Chart

you may be able to find your lenses:

Sigma 18-50mm (Manual)