Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-19-2021, 10:59 PM - 2 Likes   #1

A Million Thanks!

Thank You to all who replied to me with advice on my "House Fire Pentax". I did have insurance, however it only structural, with specified items inside the home, my cameras and lenses were not on the items list. Heat damage, this is something i didn't think about. I'm no expert, but I'll take a closer look at my equipment under a mag glass for that. Smoke smell, hadn't thought of this either. Makes sense now why i keep smelling it, like it's embedded inside the equipment. Surgical alcohol, this will be my first careful move to try and clean everything myself. Just one more thing; ThankYou~Thank You~Thank You, for your well wishes, good thoughts, caring concern. Kindness means the world to me, and it gives me strength!
Pamela 💙🦋💙

04-19-2021, 11:06 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ozone generator good for killing off smoke smell. Ask your insurer - they probably have a contractor in your area who could assist.
04-20-2021, 12:12 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hope everything goes well from now on. Best wishes.
04-20-2021, 01:52 AM   #4

Star Brite auto odor eliminator might do the trick. Alcohol might damage some of the materials and finishes on the equipment.

Get the largest Rubber Maid container (or even a clean garbage can) and put the equipment in there with the packet.

NosGUARD SG Auto Odor Eliminator

04-20-2021, 11:47 AM   #5
Pentaxian

All the best, Pamela - when my old place caught fire, all I managed to rescue was the ferrets. And, as I was (and am) on a limited income, I had no insurance at all. Hope some of the suggestions made help you.
04-20-2021, 06:47 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter