Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-25-2021, 12:33 PM   #1

Any suggestions on a beginners level wildlife camera/kit under $1000 CAD?

Hello!

I'm new to the photography realm, but have really picked up the desire to sink some money into a camera/ camera kit that could capture decent photos of wildlife from a distance. I work in a national park with an amazing diversity of wildlife, especially in birds, so it just feels like a waste not having a tool that can help me capture the amazing creatures I see during my time here.

I've set a budget of roughly $1000 CAD for this and would love to try and snag a decent camera with a decent zoom auto-focus telephoto in that price range. Weight is not an issue for me with the device.

I'm not sure if that's a reasonable goal? Any help would be appreciated as this is a very new realm for me. I've been eyeing this bundle, but I'm not sure how practical a manual focus telephoto lens would be for capturing birds during a hike/ on the job. Link below

Canon EOS Rebel T7/2000D DSLR Camera With EF-S 18-55mm , 75-300 III And 500mm Preset Lens With 2x Teleconverter (1000mm) Premium Accessory Bundle

I live in CANADA

05-25-2021, 12:50 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

I can't comment on any of that Canon stuff, but I bet that "500mm preset lens" is pretty much a tube with an element at the end - i.e. absolute garbage quality that isn't worth owning.

As far as manual focus, all of my wildlife shots are done with a manual focus 400mm lens, it just requires patience and practice. For your budget, I'd recommend picking up a used body, maybe here on the marketplace - you could probably find a K-70 with a kit lens (such as the 18-50 or 18-55) for five or six hundred - now, I can't compare to the Canon at all, but I'd hazard a guess it's a better camera all in all, take a look at the review here: Pentax K-70 Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews