Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 60 Likes Search this Thread
10-02-2021, 07:20 PM   #1
Closed Account

My dismal first attempt at star trail(s)

Asahi Pentax M-50mm macro f4 with k-s2 with tripod & remote (IR). Lens set to F4. ISO 100 on one image and ISO 400 on the other.

My dismal first attempt at star trail(s). I don't know how I ended up with 2 images though. Photo begins at 3 seconds after remote button is pushed and left open for 45 mins to an hour.

Back porch is a little bouncy that image(s) were taken from.

Oh well, it's my first attempt. It's very cloudy also, so only the 1 planet is prevalent.

&

Click on image several times to zoom in - not that it matters much. Comments please

Going to go down to a concrete ground and try again right now.

10-02-2021, 07:29 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

I'm confused why only one 'star' in the picture and its orbital spin bouncy porch or not.
10-02-2021, 07:37 PM   #3
Closed Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by tuco Quote
I'm confused why only one 'star' in the picture and its orbital spin bouncy porch or not.

Well, only a few "stars" are visible - it's overcast.

I'm taking another long exposure right now - this time from a concrete porch at the ground level. After about 30 to 45 mins I'll see what happens and post the image back to this thread.
10-02-2021, 08:44 PM - 2 Likes   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well, I would suggest trying....
  • ISO - 400 to 800, start off high and adjust. Perhaps go as high as 1600. With my old K5, ISO 800 was a stretch, 1600 better. I've gone as high as iso 4000 with my k5 and captured good results
  • Aperture - Go with your fastest lens - if f4 is it, then start with ISO 1600 to compensate.