Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
10-24-2021, 07:11 AM - 1 Like   #1

Line in Negative

Hello,

I am a newbie here. I am getting a line on both the scan and the negative.* What I know is:

1.* When shooting horizontally, it is a horizontal line.
2.* When shooting in portrait orientation, it is a vertical line
3.* It is always in the same place*
4.* It is straight and dark grey or black
5.* It is less pronounced in the highlights
6.* It seems like it does not always occur, or is perhaps too faint to see.

I found a scuff on the inner part of the camera as if something was rubbing.* I attached those photos.* This seems to be in the same place as the mark appears on the negative.* I thought is would rub off, but it seems like it is worn into the metal.

Attached Images

View Picture EXIF
D-lab.2/3  Photo 
10-24-2021, 08:45 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

That scuff is on the pressure plate (right?), which applies pressure to the back of the film (the plastic part to which the light-sensitive emulsion which faces the lens/front of the camera is attached). So, the scuff may scratch the back of the film, along the direction that it moves when wound on to the take up reel. That matches the sense of your marks with regard to landscape/portrait orientation.

You should be able to feel some slight (linear scratches) roughness in the backing plastic. If you reflect some light from it at the right angle, you should be able to see it as well.

You might be able to polish it out somehow, or perhaps put some very thin tape over the scuffed area. A good camera repair facility (if you can find one!) ought to be able to help.
10-24-2021, 08:52 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You use 120 film. 120 film has backing paper. I seriously doubt that the "scuff" on the pressure plate will mark the film through the backing paper. I think you must search for the source of problem elsewhere.