Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
11-02-2021, 07:35 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Firmware updates

I've been shooting Pentax for 21 years. Purchased 2 film and 7 DSLR bodies. My latest purchase is the K3 iii. Awesome camera, however using the DA 50-135 I have found some issues in aperture priority where some images are totally blown out and the next good exposures. Pentax suggests a reset and to load the latest firmware.
The attached image 0104 was taken with the 50-135 at ISO 100, f7.1, 1/125 sec. Changed the settings, lowered the exposure compensation with little change. Changed lens to the full frame 70-200 at ISO 100, f8. 1/200 sec. with better exposure.
I feel stupid, but I have never been able to update the firmware on any of my DSLR's. Followed the instructions EXACTLY. When pushing the menu button and on switch simultaneously the normal info screen appears on the LCD. Not the firmware update as described.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 Mark III  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 Mark III  Photo 
11-02-2021, 08:29 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ok. Let’s walk through the process.

I assume you don’t have the latest firmware already downloaded from here:

Latest PENTAX K-3 Mark III Firmware Update : Software Downloads | RICOH IMAGING

On your pc…
1) format an sd card (32MB or larger)
2) make sure you have a fully charged battery.
3) download the new firmware, this is a self extracting file. After downloading you must extract the *.bin by running the file.
4) Move the *. Bin to the root directory of the sd card. There should be no folders and no other files on this sd card.

On your camera…
5)Insert the SD card into slot 1 and close the door.
6) Turn the camera on while pressing the MENU button. You should see:"Updates the camera firmware" on the LCD monitor.