Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-31-2022, 03:40 PM   #1

Spotmatic light meter showing overexposure

Hello Forum, this is my first time posting here. I've acquired an Asahi Pentax Spotmatic and was originally pleased to find the light metered working right away. It has one of the old mercury batteries inside which I found surprising. I've done the battery test(Bulb, Asa 100, switch on light meter) and it passed the test.
Though everything seemed to be all good to go, the camera seems to be telling me to underexpose frames quite dramatically. In a very well lit(natural light) shot it is telling me to use f22 and 1/1000. I have to point at the sun for it to suggest f22 and 1/500.

From what I have read, it could be the circuitry or maybe even a bad cell.

Should I first try replacing the battery before troubleshooting anything else?

I'd appreciate any thoughts you have.

-Sergei

04-01-2022, 11:18 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

What ASA is it set at and are you metering a scene in normal daylight?

Last edited by pentaxus; 04-01-2022 at 11:20 PM. Reason: clarity
04-03-2022, 10:30 PM   #3

Original Poster
My ASA is set to 400 and I am metering in normal daylight. I have been using an external light meter on my phone for now until I sort out what is going on with the TTL metering.
04-14-2022, 03:28 AM   #4

Original Poster
I have also discovered that changing the shutter speed has a greater impact on the meter needle than an adjustment of the aperture. This leads me to think that it is the CdS cells that are bad. Would that be a reasonable deduction?

04-14-2022, 03:54 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Sergei Lapp Quote
Should I first try replacing the battery before troubleshooting anything else?
That's always my first move when something electronic is acting funky.
04-19-2022, 04:31 AM   #6

Original Poster