Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-29-2022, 09:40 AM   #1

Budget camera body upgrade: K-5/K-3/K-70?

Hi! I'm a noobie photographer on a tight budget. Mostly interested in 2:1 macros and the odd wildlife photo. I've been using a reverse-mounted SMC Asahi Pentax 50mm f1.7 on some extension tubes for macros and a Vivitar Series 1 70-210 f2.8 for "oh hey, there's an owl over there" photos. Problem is my camera body is ancient (Canon Rebel XSi/450D 12.2mb). It's been fine for macros, but not so much for anything outside of full bright sunlight. Woods are dark! If I go above ISO 400 my photos look like newspaper print, but taking pictures with a heavy old lens at 1/60 shutter speed with the aperture wide open has been...frustrating. Both my lenses happen to be k-mounts, and the more I learn about pentax the more I want to make the jump over to a pentax body. At the same time, $200 is a lot of money to me, so I'm trying to make the best purchase I can.

I've been reading lots of threads about different older pentax bodies and looking at the second hand market for them and would love some thoughts and any tips on things to look out for when purchasing them. It looks like I could pick up a K-5 for around $200-250, a K-5II/IIS or a K-3 for $350-400, or a K-S2-K-70 for $500-600. I think any would be a huge upgrade, but here are some questions:

1. What purchase do you think is the best value for the money?

2. Is a K-70 twice as good as a K-5, or is the difference pretty incrimental?

3. I've seen some discussion that K-5/II/IIs's perform better than K-3's in low light. Is this a huge difference? Otherwise K-3's are looking pretty good.